Midterm Study Break: Baking at its Finest

Good morning/day/night (depending on when you’re reading this). Well, hopefully someone is reading this. Besides myself.

Anyways, instead of studying for midterms, I decided to once again start browsing food blogs. Over the year, I have been reading my friends blogs who are studying abroad. Although I am currently not abroad and probably will not be in the near future, I figured I can add my eating/cooking/baking expeditions to the blogging world, so here goes my first “real” entry!

For some reason (consciously or not), I was determined to use all the flour in my apartment today, and all of the eggs in various recipes. I succeeded in using all the flour while only spilling a minimal amount, but still have a sad egg left over. My baking expeditions involved running to the store for various ingredients (loading up on extra butter, sugar and milk never hurts, right Paula Deen ;)).

For my first recipe, I decided to make Cranberry Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Surprise Cookies. Lengthy title, but relatively easy to make!

The recipe:

1 1/2 c sugar (I used regular granulated sugar because I ran out of brown sugar)

3/4 c butter (melted — microwaved for 30 seconds)

2 eggs (beaten)

1 tspn vanilla

1 tspn baking soda

1 tspn baking powder

1 tspn salt

3 1/2 c flour

1/2 c dried cranberries (or any other dried fruit you desire)

12-15 chocolate cooking disks (I used the ones from Trader Joes…picture to come)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1. Mix all the wet ingredients together (butter and sugar first, followed by eggs and vanilla). Fold in dried cranberries.

2. Add in dry ingredients

3. The trick: take a chocolate disk and wrap the dough around it, so the chocolate disk is covered.

3. Bake for 12-15 minutes until browned at the edges. Cool & enjoy.

As a novice blogger, I did not think to take pictures along the way, but here is the final result!

Happy baking!

2 responses to “Midterm Study Break: Baking at its Finest

  1. So I’ve heard you make a killer version of Ina’s Salmon Tartare…I’d love to see a recipe 😉

  2. It’s awesome designed for me to have a site, which is helpful designed for my
    know-how. thanks admin

Leave a Reply

